Free Grace Theology

Diserner

I've been studying this movement for a couple years now.

Anyone have thoughts?

Certainly it gets accused of antinomianism more than anything.

The thing that struck me though, is it's a far more logically consistent version of eternal security than Lordship Salvation.

Not that I accept either.

Anyone have thoughts?

The thing that struck me though, is it's a far more logically consistent version of eternal security than Lordship Salvation.

Yeah, I've studied Free Grace Theology for many years myself. Here's the best article [listed below with link] I've seen written about it that addresses the charge of antinomianism. In an excerpt from that article, Phillip L. Simpson, writing as an insider replies, "The "free grace" teachers have been charged by some in the Lordship camp as being antinomians (that is, promoting lawlessness). Do I think this charge is true? Yes and no. Let me explain what I mean. From my experience, these people do care about holiness of life and honoring God by our actions and thoughts. I can’t think of one of them who would advocate "loose living". However, I’m afraid that the unintended consequence of their teaching is a generation of many who believe that, because of a decision made years ago, their salvation is secure, even though "by their works they deny Him" (Titus 1:6).

A Biblical Response to the Teachings of Zane Hodges,
Joseph Dillow, and the Grace Evangelical Society
(Called the "Free Grace" Movement)

God Bless!

Anyone have thoughts?