Politics , Society, Ethics and A.I.

civic

I'm not really into politics much but I know there are allot of people into the political scene with AI from an ethics, moral, political and society concerns. I know @armylngst has taken a deep dive into the topic.

I'm not really into politics much but I know there are allot of people into the political scene with AI from an ethics, moral, political and society concerns. I know @armylngst has taken a deep dive into the topic.
I am also looking from the outside, but I have had some experience in using some AI. (Not recommended.) I have some background from the military that has given me a rather realist take on it. It just automates what we have always done, and that includes manipulation, lies, and deceit. You aren't going to be able to believe what you see on television, what you see in the news, studies, reports, etc. Not because of the misinformation as we see today, but because with AI comes the power to create reality in the digital world. That is, things like deep fakes. Republicans have taken the first jump into AI (rather rudimentary), but if one sees that and considers what they want to be able to do with it, it's mind boggling. One candidate uses AI to answer people's questions, but for now it can only play video clips of the candidate where the information may be in the video. In the future, they want the AI to be able to generate it all on the fly, as told by a realistic avatar of the candidate. (They sort of have that right now, except it only uses video clips to respond.)

It interests me because it gives another gateway for possible demonic influence in the world. We only think we have control over what is going on, but do we really? Most of these things are left to run on their own. A Google engineer was fired from Google after claiming that their AI had gained sentience. Imagine what kind of mess that would create if people actually believed that?